Jess in Japan · 日本のジェス

I'm sorry I can't be there right now, I'm off having an adventure

A noren obsession

This being my first visit to Japan, I was totally unaware of noren until I landed; I am now fostering something of an obsession for them. Noren, 暖簾, are the fabric dividers most commonly found at the entrance to a shop or public buliding. They vary in proportion and number but 2-3 hanging fabric lengths are common and they fall anywhere between head and waist height. Most that I have seen are printed, usually with the name of the establishment in kanji, but some are shibori dyed in traditional indigo colour.

Having just written my dissertation on the notion of “touch” in textiles and fine art, I’m finding this everyday, yet unfamilar to my western life, interaction with textiles very interesting. People act in different ways when passing through noren – some brush them aside, some stoop between, some flip them up out of the way and others sweep right through allowing the noren to find their own path over ones face, head and shoulders as though passing between the fabric is some kind of cleansing or preparation ritual upon entering the shop. I have found out very little information about them so far as they seem to be to many just an everyday commercial product. I understand that the noren protect the shop from sun, wind and dirt but, I cannot help but feel that there is a deeper cultural significance than this. I think they will make a really interesting starting point for my practical work. More research to be done, but for now, some of my favourites are below…

One comment on “A noren obsession

  1. Freddie Robins
    November 19, 2012

    Hello Jess, I am enjoying your blog and SO wish that I was experiencing everything that you are. Your thoughts and observations about Noreen are fascinating. It is a very rich area for research. Looking forward to seeing images of your weaving when it is big enough. Freddie

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 19, 2012 by .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other subscribers
Moving On Collective

“Sharing our perspective of conceptual contemporary jewellery and metal, we are MOVING ON”

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.