Jess in Japan · 日本のジェス

I'm sorry I can't be there right now, I'm off having an adventure

A way of tea

Usually the way of tea or, tea ceremony but in today’s case (it being my first lesson) I think a way of tea or, the incorrect way of tea might be more fitting.

My first tea ceremony lesson got off to a terrible start this afternoon as I was swarmed upon by mosquitoes – 18 bites on my lower legs within the space of about two minutes.

* Insect repellent added to my shopping list.

Things picked up though and I feel as though I had a very authentic Japanese experience. I was lucky in that there were fewer students than usual in today’s class; just me and my sensai from KCUA. I spent the first part of the lesson acting as a guest and observing how the ceremony is performed and listening to chit chat in Japanese. I had my very first cup of matcha (抹茶) this is a powdered green tea which is the most common type of tea to be served at a ceremony. It is thick and bright green, served in a tea bowl (chawan) and is quite different to any tea I have had before. The ceremony is even more ritualistic than I had anticipated. The angles at which objects are offered, held and placed are very important. Each utensil is held in its own way. The arrangement of three utensils by the stove, a pot (I’m not sure what this is for), the tea caddy (natsume) and the tea bowl is said to represent the sun, moon and stars.

When the sensai was preparing the sweets at the beginning of the lesson I learnt the importance of balance. The first sweets were arranged on a circular plate and the second type of sweet was about to be arranged on another however, sensai felt it best that these be placed on a square plate for harmony. I imagine this is more clearly understood if familiar with the intricacies of Zen Buddhism. The sweets offered vary by season, today of course we had autumnal sweets – a large and incredibly sweet sugary chestnut confection and two small chrysanthemum shaped sweets which are to take home from the ceremony. See image above.

Sensai was pre-warned that I speak no Japanese whatsoever and she was concerned about me sitting in the seiza position so, a small stool was kindly provided. This however made me feel rather like a giant so, for the second half of the lesson where I was taught some practices I sat in seiza. It is incredibly painful but I had a lot of other things to focus on so luckily I didn’t really notice until I stood up! When sitting in the tea room your knees should be 16 woven rows back from the edge of the tatami. When entering the room you lead with your right foot and when leaving you should use your left. Movements are very specific and modelled on the actions permitted when wearing a kimono. A certain number of steps are taken from the door to the stove and turning is incredibly complicated and sadly I cannot explain it as I did not pick it up at all!

One of my main incentives to study in Japan was the opportunity to learn about the textiles used in tea ceremony. Today was my first opportunity to try for myself. My sensai very kindly lent me a fukasa – the silk cloth used for cleaning the natsume and chashaku (tea scoop). The process of folding and unfurling this is ridiculously complex and I must do my best to remember for next week. The act will make an interesting series of textile objects, photographs or a film. An interesting line of exploration for next week if I can remember how to do it – maybe all the more interesting if I forget…

I think that will do for today. There were so many details that it is hard to recount but above is a start. I did not take any photographs today as I felt it may be a little insensitive after all of the hospitality offered to me. Once I learn how to ask politely in Japanese perhaps I will request if I may.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 12, 2012 by .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other subscribers
Moving On Collective

“Sharing our perspective of conceptual contemporary jewellery and metal, we are MOVING ON”

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.